Herle Scholarship

 The Jeff Herle Scholarship – “You Gotta Want It!”Jeff Herle

Jeffrey Stephen Herle was born on February 20, 1989, in Montebello, California. His family relocated to Atlanta, Georgia in 1993. He attended Marist High School where he played varsity football and lacrosse and graduated with his classmates in 2007. Jeff returned west to attend USC. He joined Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity and became a lifetime brother. In the very early hours of January 1st 2013, Jeff Herle, was tragically struck and killed by a car on Pacific Coast Highway in Malibu leaving a New Years Eve Celebration.  Jeff was a member of the Fall of 2007 Pledge Class at Beta-Sigma and has been an important part of this fraternity ever since. Jeff was full of life and always had a smile on his face, always trying to be the life of the party, and everyone’s friend. “You gotta want it”, his signature phrase, will forever be ingrained in our memories because of his simple care-free antics that made him a popular figure amongst all of the fraters in TKE.


Fund Balance: $40,775

The Jeffrey S. Herle Memorial Scholarship will be given to the applicant who best exemplifies the qualities and traits that our fellow frater Jeff Herle portrayed. He was a man of great ambition and perseverance. He worked hard for what he wanted and was never too humble to do what was needed to achieve his goals. His signature tagline, which can be seen in the TKE Library, “You Gotta Want It” is a testament to this ambition. Jeff held many leadership positions in TKE and was a very integral part of all aspects of the fraternity. He loved his brothers and this fraternity and would do anything for them. This scholarship is intended to aid future Beta Sigma TKEs in achieving their goals and following their dreams.

The award amount for the academic year 2023 – 2024 is: $1,200.

The scholarship recipient must be an upperclassman (Junior or Senior), active member in good standing with the Beta Sigma chapter and a full-time student at USC with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above. The scholarship will be awarded based on chapter and campus involvement and achievement.

Past winners include:

2023 – 2024    Christian Shaw
2022 – 2023    Tucker Bruce
2021 – 2022    Myles Carr
2020 – 2021    Lucas Harvey
2019 – 2020    Jack Rasmussen
2018 – 2019    Jack Tenney
2017 – 2018    Michael Cesar
2016 – 2017    Michael Cesar
2016 – 2017    Arjun Dundoo
2015 – 2016    Andrew Sanford
2014 – 2015    Austin Lantero
2013 – 2014    Michael Sullivan

©2024 Tau Kappa Epsilon
The Beta Sigma Alumni Association
Our 75th Anniversary Is Coming Soon.
Learn More »